Sunday, May 28, 2017  
Account Login  

  need help?  
Search By Keyword
Breaking News Alerts
Email Alerts
Email Address
Text Alerts
Mobile Number
 )  - 
Mobile Provider
standard messaging rates apply
Drought Disaster Assistance

Counties eligible for Drought Disaster Assistance

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated Georgia 10 South Georgia counties as primary natural disaster area due to the current drought, and McIntosh is one of four additional counties named as contiguous disaster counties.

The designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), including FSA emergency loans.

Primary counties included under the designation include Berrien, Brantley, Camden, Charlton, Clinch, Echols, Lowndes, Pierce, Ware and Wayne. Contiguous disaster counties are McIntosh, Bacon, Glynn, Long and McIntosh.

Congressman Buddy Carter said, “This is absolutely welcome news to assist with this severe drought. Our farmers and agricultural community provide an indispensable service to our local community, as well as the entire nation, and I believe this will help to ensure they are able to continue this important work while dealing with this extreme situation. I am pleased this assistance is available and we are available and ready to assist with the process to ensure these resources are used in the best way possible.”

According to the USDA, farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm, and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

For more information, go to the website: or call Congressman Carter’s office in Brunswick, 912-265-9010.


Current Conditions
Darien, GA
Radar & More >>
click ad below for details
  • Show All Ads